Bomboloni

I love doughnuts and I’m Italian, so Bomboloni drew me in right away. My friend Denise and I went out to lunch next door and after lunch, Denise insisted that I go get a bomboloni. The shop is pretty small with one counter full of little bomboloni, regular sized and miniature, another case full of gelato, and there’s coffee and espresso behind the counters. There are a few tables inside and a great outside seating area.

Chocolate-Covered Orange Bomboloni ($2.00)

So what are bomboloni? They are light “italian doughnuts” made with pastry dough and filled with fruit jellies or cremes. They’re the perfect size for just a little treat but they’re very decadent and leave you comfortably full.¬†Denise and I each got a bomboloni. Denise got the Creme Brulee bomboloni and I got the Chocolate-Covered Orange bomboloni ($2.00 each). They have a wide assortment of flavors with some that rotate in and out of sale. They have many fruit-filled bomboloni like Raspberry, Apricot, Strawberry, and Meyer Lemon, as well as a selection of creme-filled bomboloni like Amaretto, Pistachio Cream, Peanut Butter Cup, and Espresso. There’s a bombolono for everyone!

Bomboloni also offers an extensive espresso and coffee menu. They have some rich flavored lattes like the Dark Chocolate Raspberry and the Toasted Marshmallow. They also offer an Affogato, which is a scoop of gelato with espresso. I have to come back to try that one!

Overall, the experience was great and the bomboloni were delicious! The chocolate covered orange was pretty sweet, but the dough balanced out the orange jelly really well. It was the perfect size too, especially for dessert after a meal and the chocolate and orange filling was made with quality ingredients– it didn’t taste or feel like a generic doughnut shop doughnut (not that I don’t appreciate those too…).

Bomboloni: http://www.bomboloni.com

187 Columbus Avenue (between 68th and 69th Streets)

Bomboloni on Urbanspoon

