Cones Ice Cream Artisans

Cones will always be “the place with corn ice cream” for me, since I was brought there to try their unusually delightful sweet corn ice cream a couple years ago, but  after getting hooked on their Argentine-style ice cream then, I’ve come back for more of their delicious and sometimes unusual flavors. The store looks like your classic ice cream shop, with a big row of freezer cases with their ice cream on colorful display. They also have a good amount of seating inside and colorful pictures of ice cream cones up on the walls… to persuade you to buy some?

Banana cone ($4.36)

Cones offers an extensive selection of ice creams (that are more like Argentine-style gelato) and sorbets. One thing I love about Cones is that they allow you to try as many flavors as you want before you decide on one, so you can sample all of the deliciousness and choose wisely! Some of their more unique ice cream flavors are Corn, Zambayone (a traditional Italian custard made with egg yolks, sugar, and sweet wine), Mate, Tiramisu, White Chocolate, and a Johnnie Walker Black Label Kumquat which was there when I went in this time (which is twice the price since they use good liquor and the kumquats are soaked and processed in it). Some of their more usual ice cream flavors include Coconut, Hazelnut, Almond Cream, Ginger, Coffee Mocha Chip (one of my favorites), and Dulce de Leche. The sorbet flavors include Pear, Mango, Blueberry, Cantaloupe, Chocolate, and Ginger among others.

You can choose to have the usual toppings on your ice cream like sprinkles, and they make their own whipped cream fresh every day which you can have on your ice cream as well! It’s really really good and not overly sweet and it has a great creaminess to it that you can only find in homemade whipped cream. The cones/cups are $4.36 for one scoop and $5.36 (i’m going off of memory for this one, it could be a little off) for two scoops. The ice cream at Cones is a bit pricy so I go there when I’m in the mood to splurge a little, but it’s really worth the money and the ice cream is of good quality and it does fill you up!

When I came in this time, I spent a long time trying to decide which flavor to get. I sampled a couple (as I always do) and then settled on a one scoop Banana cone ($4.36). Banana ice cream is such a treat for me, especially when it’s done well. It’s surprisingly hard to find, but it’s a fruit that goes well into an ice cream because of its natural creaminess. The perfect banana ice cream for me is not too sweet but full of that good banana flavor, and Cones is where I go to find the perfect banana ice cream.

I was so excited to get my ice cream but when I got up to the counter, I realized that I didn’t have any cash on me and I tried to use my card but they’re cash only (which is good to know beforehand!). The man who served me was really nice about it and gave me the ice cream on the house, even though I offered to run to an ATM, so that was definitely a treat on top of a frozen treat!

Cones Ice Cream Artisans: (212) 414-1795

272 Bleecker Street (between Morton and Jones Streets)

Cones on Urbanspoon

