Rickshaw Dumpling Bar

Me and my dumplings

What’s better than a fast-paced dumpling joint? Not much, and Rickshaw does it really well. The philosophy behind Rickshaw dumplings is delivering quality food at a fast pace and bringing smiles to hungry faces. Of course at Rickshaw, everything is about the dumplings. I first tried them out when I found their dumpling truck , which travels around New York City. I used to work down on 23rd Street a couple years ago, and I noticed their Flatiron store location but never had the chance to go in. So when I met my friend Amanda for lunch in the neighborhood, we decided to give the Rickshaw store a whirl.

Amanda and her noodles

The store has ample seating in the front and back, and there’s one counter where you order and pick up your food right around the corner. It’s a very open store and has an inviting, clean atmosphere. Their menu isn’t incredibly extensive but it’s full of distinct and tasty items. They offer a menu of steamed dumplings (they don’t do fried dumplings, so if that’s your thing, you’ll have to find another dumpling place!), which includes: Chicken & Thai Basil (with a spicy peanut dip), Peking Duck (with a hoisin dip), Vegetarian Edamame (with a lemon sansho dip), and Shrimp (with a creamy wasabi dip). They also offer noodles like their Warm Sesame Noodles, Miso Noodle Soup, and Peanut Sate Noodle Soup (with green coconut, cucumber, carrot, crispy Thai shallot, and lime). They have salads, sides, and steamed buns as well. Rickshaw uses local and organic ingredients when possible and avoids MSG at all costs. The food is fresh even though it’s fast, and the menu is original and classic all at once.

Classic Pork Dumplings ($5.97)

I decided to go a little classic and get a medium order of their Classic Pork dumplings, which are filled with Duroc all-natural pork, cabbage, ginger, and scallions with a soy sesame dipping sauce ($5.97). I got my dumplings quickly and the order was a good size for its price– it was a full lunch size for me and left me satisfied. The dumplings themselves were perfectly cooked on the inside and outside, and held together well (because I eat my dumplings in two, sometimes three bites…) as I bit into them and dipped them in the sauce. The flavors came out well and everything tasted fresh. The soy sesame sauce was also really good and complemented the pork dumplings well, adding a good amount of saltiness and moisture to them. Amanda went for the Warm Sesame Noodles, which are made with cucumber, white scallions, sesame, and fresh lime. I believe that she got the medium size for $3. 90, and it was a good lunch-sized portion as well.

We didn’t have time for dessert, but they do have a Chocolate Shanghai Soup Dumpling, which sounds crazy and fantastic. I’m not sure what it tastes like or is made with, but the next time I go to Rickshaw I’m definitely trying that one out.

Warm Sesame Noodles ($3.90)

Rickshaw Dumpling Bar: http://rickshawdumplings.com/

  • Flatiron: 61 West 23rd Street (between 5th and 6th Avenues)
  • Lexington: 459 Lexington Avenue (between 46th and 47th Streets)
  • Times Square: Broadway Plaza (Broadway between 42nd and 43rd Streets)
  • NYC Truck- Locations change

 

 

 

 

Rickshaw Dumpling Bar on Urbanspoon

