Pie Face

Silly me, I forgot to post on Pie Face before I did my final New York City post! I actually forgot that I had picked up a little pie there, until I imported some new photos from my camera and saw lots of pictures of a silly-looking pie. I take occasional ridiculously long walks up from either West 4th or 14th Street to Columbus Circle… or sometimes all the way home (107th Street), and this summer I started to notice a restaurant called Pie Face on 53rd and Broadway. It wasn’t until my last ridiculous walk of the summer, that I actually went in and I was sort of sad that I had waited so long because I could have been eating their pies all summer!

Barbecue Pulled Pork Pie ($5.95)

Pie Face is a chain of bakery/cafes that originated in Bondi Beach, in Sydney, Australia. The meat pie is a traditional Australian staple, and Pie Face brings gourmet ingredients together with traditional Australian and international-style recipes, to create some delicious pies. The New York location opened last January and is the first in the United States. Pie Face specializes in savory gourmet pies as well as Australian roast coffees and espresso. They serve up regular pies (personal-sized) and mini pies (for snacking) and their savory flavors vary from more traditional pies like the Mince Beef, Chicken and Mushroom, and Chunky Steak, to pies that sample other cuisines like the Thai Chicken Curry and Tandoori Vegetable. The flavors do change as well and not everything is on their website that’s in the store. They have breakfast pies, lunch pies, and dinner pies to suit all of your pie needs, as well as some mini sweet pies like the Pecan Pie, Chocolate Pie, Cherry Pie, and Apple Pie. They also have other breakfast and sweet pastries like croissants, brownies, cookies, danishes, and scones. Simply put, Pie Face is serving up some really good comfort food.

I had a really tough time deciding what to get. My personal favorite savory pie is pot pie, which they had a version of (although it wasn’t called “pot pie”), but I wanted to branch out and get something a little less traditional. I ended up getting a Barbecue Pulled Pork Pie ($5.95). They give you the option of getting your pie “stacked” with mashed potatoes and gravy for an extra $2.00, but I wasn’t quite prepared for that and I was taking mine home so I didn’t want it to get too messy. However, that would probably be an awesome option on a Mince Beef pie. You can eat in the restaurant where they have an espresso bar and indoor seating, but I took mine to go. I’ve got to say, this was one of the best savory pies I’ve had in a while. Not only was the pie’s face incredibly cute, but it was an excellent dinner. The pie shell was light, flaky, and buttery, and it just kind of melted in with the filling as I ate it. The pulled pork filling was incredibly good and there was a great sweetness to the barbecue flavor. It was filling, but I couldn’t get enough of it! I will definitely be back when I get the chance, to try the rest of their savory pies and maybe some sweet ones. The pies are fun and a great size for a personal dinner or family sharing (but I’d get a couple), and you definitely get a bang for your buck.

Pie Face: http://piefacenyc.com/

1691 Broadway (at 53rd Street)

Pie Face Bakery Cafe on Urbanspoon

