Banana Bread

We’ve had a few bananas sitting around the kitchen for a while now… and you know what happens when the bananas get too brown– banana bread!!

Loaf of banana bread!

I LOVE banana bread. Something about the banana flavor combined with the moistness and warmth of the cake just makes it irresistible to me. Banana bread has always been a homemade treat in my house. I remember making it with my mom when I was little and everyone in my family loves it and has their own way of making it a treat (my dad puts brie on his… ew). So today I decided to put the old bananas to use and bring out the old cook book to find my family’s go-to banana bread recipe.

My mom is in publishing and loves to cook, so of course she has a whole slew of cook books for everything you could think of. We’ve had The Fannie Farmer Cookbook on our shelf since I can remember, and this book has the best banana bread recipe I’ve ever made or tried. The bread is always perfectly browned, moist, and at just the right sweetness.

Here is the Banana Nut Bread recipe (I’m not a fan of nuts in banana bread so I’ve always left out the nuts… and sometimes added chocolate chips!):

Banana Nut Bread

3 ripe bananas, well mashed

2 eggs, well beaten

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional, or substitute chocolate chips)

 

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan.

– Mix the bananas and eggs together in a large bowl.

– Stir in the flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda.

– Add the walnuts (or chocolate chips) and blend.

– Put the batter in the pan and bake for 1 hour.

– Remove from the pan to a rack. Serve still warm or cooled, as you like it. (I like it warm)

banana bread sliced

Slice of warm banana bread with a dab of butter (my favorite way to have it)

Slice of warm banana bread with a dab of butter (my favorite way to have it)

