Smorgasburg: BEP Vietnamese Eatery

Amanda with her giant turkey leg

Amanda with her giant turkey leg

This past Sunday a couple of friends and I headed down to Smorgasburg in DUMBO for the first time this summer. Smorgasburg is part of the Brooklyn Flea Market but is dedicated to prepared food from all across New York City. You can show up and try some awesome food every weekend– Saturdays in Williamsburg and Sundays in DUMBO. Both locations are right on the waterfronts and are not only packed with great eating options, but provide very scenic places to eat! Smorgasburg is a great place to get a sampling of different restaurants from around the city, since each vendor has a stand at the market (and there are frequently free samples). You can find a full list of Smorgasburg food vendors here.

I was very excited to go since I had peeked at the vendor list before we headed out. When we got there we all had to walk around and look at everything for a while in order to decide what looked best (which was hard, since everything looked amazing). I think we arrived a little late in the day so it wasn’t that crowded which was nice. The food options were also very diverse and there was pretty much everything you could want to eat. A couple of my favorites were Bon Chovie, which sold various types of fried anchovies (my father would have been a fan) and Crazy Legs, which had the most humungous turkey legs on display (my friend Amanda ended up getting one of them and it was delicious!).

Beef Brisket Summer Roll ($4)

Beef Brisket Summer Roll ($4)

After a couple of laps around the whole market, I decided to try out the BEP Vietnamese Eatery stand where I saw some yummy-looking summer rolls. They were offering a few types of rolls, including a shrimp roll, a roasted asparagus roll, and a beef brisket roll. I was tempted by the asparagus but decided to go for the brisket since I only had $6 left and wanted something more filling. The rolls were $4 each or two for $7… too bad I didn’t have an extra dollar! I did find the ATM after we ate, so if you’re low on cash you don’t have to give up hope!

The summer roll was really good! Inside it had beef brisket, fresh greens, and sticky rice. The flavors worked well together and the brisket was tender and flavorful. The combination of brisket and vietnamese rolls was interesting but very tasty. It also came with a peanut miso dipping sauce, which was refreshing and added some flavor/moisture to the roll. Although I only got one roll, it was plenty for me since I wasn’t too hungry. Any other day I would have probably done two rolls instead, and maybe tried two different kinds.

BEP is normally located at Simple Cafe in Williamsburg. Maybe I’ll make it down there to try some more of their menu.

BEP Vietnamese Eatery: http://beprestaurant.blogspot.com/

  • Smorgasburg DUMBO: at the Historic Tobacco Warehouse in Brooklyn Bridge Park (on the waterfront)
  • Smorgasburg Williamsburg: at East River State Park (Kent Avenue and North 7th)
  • Simple Cafe: 346 Bedford Avenue (corner of South 3rd Street)
